

Arizona Airports Association

Contact:

Sarah Demory, AzAA President 602 273 2165 sarah.demory@phoenix.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Recipients of Arizona Airports Association (AzAA) Awards of Excellence Announced

PHOENIX (June 21, 2023) – AzAA awarded the Airport Executive of the Year and announced the President's Award at its annual spring conference held in Flagstaff, AZ. Chad Makovsky received the 2023 Airport Executive of the Year Award and Tammy Martelle received the President's Award. Each honoree has made lasting positive impacts on airports in Arizona, and AzAA recognizes their outstanding contributions.

Chad R. Makovsky, C.M., who currently serves as Director of Aviation Services at the City of Phoenix Aviation Department, was awarded Airport Executive of the Year. Makovsky was named City of Phoenix Director of Aviation Services in March 2021. He provides executive leadership and strategic direction for the Phoenix system of airports, including Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX), Phoenix Deer Valley Airport (DVT), and Phoenix Goodyear Airport (GYR). In this capacity, Makovsky leads one of America's largest airports, with more than 20 airlines providing nonstop service to more than 140 destinations across North America and Europe. Additionally, Makovsky is responsible for implementing a \$6 billion capital improvement program and is committed to sustainability, setting a bold sustainability vision for the airport system to achieve net zero emissions nearly a decade ahead of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) goal. Makovsky returned to Phoenix after serving as the Executive Vice President of Operations at Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW). There, he led the airport's Department of Public Safety, Environmental Affairs, Sustainability, Airport Operations, and Integrated Operations functions. Prior to DFW Airport, Makovsky held a variety of roles with the City of Phoenix Aviation Department, Burbank Airport, John F. Kennedy International Airport, and America West Airlines during his 32-year professional career. Makovsky is a Certified Member with the American Association of

Airport Executives where he serves on their International Board (IAAE) and national Policy Review Council. He is also actively engaged with Airports Council International and serves on several Boards including the Arizona Lodging and Tourism Association, the Arizona Governor's Tourism Advisory Council, the Arizona Humane Society Board, and the Phoenix Aviation Advisory Board. He holds a Private Pilot's License, a Bachelor of Science in Aviation Operations from St. Cloud State University, and a Master of Business Administration from Arizona State University's W.P. Carey School of Business. He is also an avid participant in AzAA and very well respected in the local, state, and federal aviation community. His dedication to AzAA and other industry organizations, broad depth and knowledge and understanding of aviation issues, proven contributions to the industry, and his strong passion for aviation and mentoring of others make him an ideal recipient of the Executive of the Year award.

Tammy Martelle, Grant Administrator at Kimley-Horn, was awarded the President's Award. In her current role at Kimley-Horn, Martelle assists airport clients with grant administration, which includes preparing ADOT and FAA grant applications, reimbursement requests, and assisting with airport capital improvement program (ACIP) documentation. Prior to joining Kimley-Horn, Martelle worked with the ADOT Multimodal Division, Aeronautics Group as an airport grants manager, where she successfully managed over 25 airports with over 450 grants for airport projects worth approximately \$500 million within Arizona. In total, she has over 33 years of experience in government work, including the 11 years spent at ADOT. She has also been a loyal and active member of AzAA for many years. She diligently serves on the Spring and Fall conference committees year after year, where she organizes and facilitates door prizes and give aways. In his speech presenting the award to Martelle, AzAA President Matt Smith, C.M. (now immediate past president) stated, "Without her efforts, the conferences wouldn't be nearly as fun. She's one of my favorite people ever." He went on to say, "Tammy has selflessly served Arizona airports for over 20 years, and I could think of no one more deserving of the President's Award than her to formally recognize her dedication and efforts over the years."

The AzAA Board of Directors would like to congratulate both Chad Makovsky and Tammy Martelle as recipients of this year's Excellence Awards, and for their dedicated service to AzAA and aviation in the state of Arizona.

AzAA was formed in 1979 to bring together the representatives of public and private airports and others interested in the general benefit of aviation to provide information, expertise, and support to all those in the State of Arizona's aviation industry. Further, the Association works to foster public recognition of airports and the airport executive profession, and to assist in the future development of air transportation in Arizona. www.azairports.org